Curriculum - CH

音位意识和拼音


基础是我们用于k-2的语音课程。它使学习阅读变得有趣,同时为终身扫盲奠定了基础。该说明符合州标准。学生将接受包括关键基础技能在内的系统课程,重点是:


  • 语音意识
  • 拼音/单词学习
  • 高频单词学习
  • 阅读流利
  • 词汇
  • 理解策略
  • 手写
  • 拼写

Fundations虚拟资源中心对语音学习提供了数字访问,教师可以通过互动活动(包括回声木偶),声卡,视频演示,基于视频的家庭教程和评估,来促进学生在家里能互动学习。

Heggerty音位意识课程: Heggerty音位意识课程的每个级别(需要时提供西班牙语)提供35周的每日课程,重点是八种音位意识技能,另外还有两项活动用于发展字母和声音识别以及语言意识。课程需要10到12分钟。
在音位意识课程:

  • 主要重点是音位(声音)
  • 处理口语
  • 活动是听觉
  • 学生练习单词中的声音和声音
Students reading outside the classroom

读写期


我们英语语言艺术(ELA)课程的另一部分可帮助学生成为有思想,有目标的读者,他们能够从多种类型的文本中理解含义。在识字期间,学生会花时间独立阅读自己选择的书籍。在阅读时,老师会与学生单独会面,以了解读者的身份并提供有针对性的支持。
读写期以F&P阅读迷你课程为中心,这是针对性的短期课程,针对阅读技能和策略,可以根据全班,小班或一对一的方式授课,并基于需求可以单独与学生会面,也可以通过数字方式获得。扫盲期可能还包括其他要素,例如:


  • 大声朗读: 教师提供阅读技巧和策略的模仿,让学生能够练习。
  • 共享阅读: 一种互动的阅读体验,学生可以分享课文的阅读内容,并得到老师的指导和支持。
  • 小组指导: 根据需要将学生分组,并教给他们一系列课程,通过提供对他们感兴趣和学术需要的文本访问来灌输对阅 读的热爱。

数字课程还Scholastic Literacy Pro 作为补充。 Literacy Pro 提供英语和西班牙语两种语言的图书馆,并为学生在家学习提供远程阅读评估。

双语


幼稚园至四年级有中文,普通话和西班牙语双语言课程。学生通过阅读,写作,内容领域,母语艺术和数学来体验双语。

对于西班牙语,学生可以通过Palabras a Su Paso 学习拼音,通过Heggerty学习音素。学生还可以通过Scholastic Literacy Pro和Epic!访问西班牙图书馆。尤里卡数学(Eureka Math)用西班牙语授课,所有学生都可以用西班牙语获得学生用书

对于中国本土语言艺术,学生使用Chinese Made Easy(中文轻松学习)。中文教学从简体字开始,然后发展到拼音,并在高年级学习传统字。作为数字支持的补充,学生还将可以使用Joy Reader,该阅读器提供各种正宗的中文阅读材料,可以满足他们的阅读水平,兴趣和喜好。尤里卡数学(Eureka Math)以简体中文授课,所有学生都获得中文书籍。

Academic Intervention Services

读写支援


下,我们为使用各种程序努力阅读和写作的学生提供支持:

Fountas & Pinnell 提高读写介入课程 (Leveled Literacy Intervention, LLI) 提供密集、小组,为有读写困难的学生提供介入服务 , LLI 目标是协助阅读未达到年级标准的学生获得成就。更多LLI 课程资讯可点击这里。 Just Words 是为4年级及高年级在解读和拼写熟练程度差距的学生而安排的学习课程。 更多 Just Words 课程资讯可点击这里。

Just Words 是为4年级及高年级在解读和拼写熟练程度差距的学生而安排的学习课程。更多 Just Words 课程资讯可点击这里。

Reading Recovery 是对早期阅读和写作极端困难的一年级学生,提供短期介入服务。具经验及培训的老师会与学生,进行为期12至20周,每天30分钟个别辅导学习。更多Reading Recover 课程资讯可点击这里。

Reading Rescue 是对早期阅读和写作困难的低年级学生的短期介入服务。有关老师会与学生进行为期18周,每天30分钟个别辅导学习。 更多 Reading Rescue 课程资讯点击这里。

English Language Arts

阅读和写作的內容範围


英语语言艺术(ELA)课程的一部分围绕学习社会研究和科学内容,并利用学生对该内容的理解来阅读、写作和完成与表达该内容相关的习作。在二年级时,例如学生通过 学习美国移民–推动和拉动移民的因素,以及了解移民所面对新居住地方的挑战, 学生阅读主要文件、观看教学视频,以及资料搜集,利用上述资料,了解人们为什么移民,以及他们无论在适应新环境生活,以至是否达到他们的预期。学生写作资讯性的文章、意见及叙述片段,并根据他们所学习关于移民来建立习作。

学生学习的内容,与纽约巿的 社会科 Social Studies科学科 Science 的范围及次序,以及每个年级的 共同核心学习标准 Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) 是一致的。至于三至五年级,学生学习的内容,大部分来自远征学习课程 Expeditionary Learning curriculum。在阅读和写作的内容范围,学生学到的内容是按年级分类如下:

  • 幼稚园:
    • 社会科: 我和我的家庭, 学校社区工作者, 邻居
    • 科学: 一年的天气研究
  • 一年级:
    • 社会科: 家庭, 社区和社区经济
    • 科学: 动物和栖息地
  • 二年级:
    • 社会科: 移民
    • 科学: 植物和蜜蜂
  • 三年级:
    • 社会科: 地球的历史, 亚洲,南美洲和中美洲
    • 科学: 青蛙 - 动植物的适应
  • 四年级:
    • 社会科: 美国原住民, 殖民期, 联邦,州和当地政府
    • 科学: 生物和非生物,测量,水循环,简单的机器

在部门化的五年级课程中,学习单位如下:


  • 社会科: 西半球的地理和早期社会,欧洲的勘探,墨西哥,美国,今天的西半球
  • 科学:地球和天空的模式、建模物质、地球系统、生态系统的恢复

学生可以深入学习内容,并可以深入学习各种主题。我们也认为学生需要有正确的方式表达及分享他们的学习。每个年级每周都有多次的选择时间,期间,学生可以创建他们的习作,表达他们每次在阅读及写作所学习的内容范围。学生可以把习作累积起来,并透过博物馆或演讲,与家庭成员,其他学生,老师,行政人员及学校成员分享。

Morning Meeting

社交情感学习


Responsive Classroom 回应积极的教室 提供社交情感学习框架。回应积极的教室是基于K-8年级一项研究方法,专注于学业成功与社交情感技巧紧密联系。这个学习的信念认为,每个孩子的高质教育都建立在安全和愉快的学习环境上。 更多课程资讯点击这里 Responsive Classroom 网站.

Morningside 4Rs-Rs课程(阅读,写作,尊重和解决方)吸引从PreK 到5年级儿童的想象力和创造力,以帮助他们培养包括移情,社区建设和解决冲突在内的关键技能。 4Rs课程为孩子们敞开大门,让他们更仔细地了解自己的经历,并为他们提供了清晰的工具来处理困难的情绪并解决与同龄人的冲突。同时老师们也学习他们可以全天使用的策略,以创建更高质量的课堂体验,让学生专注,安定和准备学习。

情绪响应练习- 我们的幼儿园和一年级学生体验泰迪熊课程(Teddy Bear Curriculum)(Lesley Koplow和the Center for Emotionally Responsive Practice at Bank Street College设计)。

Go Math

数学


在日落公园学校,我们使用了Eureka Math 数学书(Great Minds,正式称为EngageNY)专注于K-5年級学习。 我们的数学课程与纽约州每个年级的共同核心学习标准(CCLS)保持一致。 下面列出了每个年级的数学理解核心內容:

幼稚园


  • 数字到10
  • 2D和3D形状
  • 长度,重量,容量和数字与10的比较
  • 数字配对,10以内的加法和减法
  • 数字10-20;数到百
  • 分析,比较和组成形状

一年级


  • 小数目加减
  • 了解进位制
  • 测量长度
  • 大数目加减
  • 处理形状
  • 100内的加减

二年级


  • 友好数字的加减
  • 长度的探索
  • 计数和进位制
  • 加,减和求解
  • 大数目的加减
  • 相等组
  • 长度,金钱和数据
  • 形状, 时间和分数

三年级


  • 乘除数字
  • 测量
  • 棘手数字乘除
  • 查找区域
  • 分数作为数字
  • 显示数据
  • 形状和尺寸

四年级


  • 加,减和四舍五入
  • 测量与解决
  • 大数的乘除
  • 构造线条,角度和形状
  • 等效分数
  • 小数部分
  • 乘和测

五年级


  • 小数部分的位值
  • 基础十项操作
  • 加减分数
  • 乘和除分数与小数s
  • 体积,面积和形状
  • 座标平面

此外,学生还将在家中学习数字式课程Zearn,并通过英语中的快乐数字(需要时使用西班牙语)体验数学课程。通过快乐数字:


  • 借助基于分位数的内置评估,每个学生都可以从课程的正确位置入手
  • 在我们丰富的教学法数学故事中,学生可以按自己的进度前进,并获得即时,个性化的反馈和支架
  • 教师从Happy Numbers中获得可行的见解,以告知他们的差异化策略

Curriculum - EN

Phonemic Awareness and Phonics


Fundations is the phonics curriculum we use for k-2. It makes learning to read fun while laying the groundwork for life-long literacy. The instruction is aligned to state standards. Students receive a systematic program including critical foundational skills, emphasizing:


  • Phonemic awareness
  • Phonics/ word study
  • High frequency word study
  • Reading fluency
  • Vocabulary
  • Comprehension strategies
  • Handwriting
  • Spelling

The Fundations Virtual Resource Hub provides digital access to phonics learning where teachers can facilitate learning for students at home with interactivities that include virtual letter boards (with echo puppet!), sound cards, video demonstrations, video-based home tutorials, and assessments.

Heggerty Phonemic Awareness: Each level of the Heggerty Phonemic Awareness Curriculum taught in English (Spanish where needed) provides 35 weeks of daily lessons, focusing on eight phonemic awareness skills, along with two additional activities to develop letter and sound recognition, and language awareness. Lessons take 10-12 minutes.
In a Phonemic Awareness Lesson:

  • Main focus is on the phonemes (sounds)
  • Deals with spoken language
  • Activities are auditory
  • Students work with manipulating sounds & sounds in words
Students reading outside the classroom

Literacy Period


Another portion of our English Language Arts (ELA) curriculum helps students to become thoughtful, purposeful readers who are able to make meaning from texts across a range of genres. During the Literacy period, students have dedicated time to read books of their choosing independently. While they are reading, teachers are meeting with students individually to gain an understanding of the reader’s identity and provide targeted support.
The Literacy period is centered around an F&P Reading Mini-Lesson that is a targeted, short lesson on reading skills and strategies that may be taught whole-class, in small groups, or one-on-one, and are based on needs that surfaced from meeting with students individually and is also available digitally. The Literacy Period may also include other elements, such as:


  • Read aloud: Teachers model reading skills and strategies that students are able to practice.
  • Shared reading: An interactive reading experience where students share in the reading of a text and are guided and supported by the teacher.
  • Small-group instruction: Students are grouped based on need and are taught a series of lessons to help instill a love for reading by providing access to texts of their interest and academic need.

Digital curriculum is also supplemented with Scholastic Literacy Pro. Literacy Pro provides libraries in both English and Spanish and provides remote access to reading assessments for students learning at home.

Dual Language


There are Dual Language classes in Chinese, Mandarin as well as Spanish in Kindergarten through 4th grade. Students experience Dual Language through Reading, Writing, in the Content areas, Native Language Arts, and math.

For Spanish, students learn Phonics through Palabras a Su Paso and Phonemic Awareness through Heggerty. Students also have access to Spanish libraries through Scholastic Literacy Pro and Epic!. Eureka Math is taught in Spanish and all students are given student books in Spanish.

For Chinese native language arts, students use Chinese Made Easy. Chinese instruction begins with simplified characters and then progresses to Pinyin and exposure to traditional characters in the upper grades. To supplement with digital support, students will also gain access to Joy Reader that has various authentic Chinese reading materials that cater to their reading levels, interests, and preferences. Eureka Math is taught in simplified Chinese and all students are given student books in Chinese.

Academic Intervention Services

Literacy Support


We provide, when possible, support for students who are struggling with reading and writing using a range of programs:

Fountas & Pinnell Leveled Literacy Intervention (LLI) provides intensive, small-group, supplementary literacy intervention for students who find reading and writing difficult. The goal of LLI is to lift the literacy achievement of students who are not achieving grade-level expectations in reading. Here are more information about LLI.

Just Words is a decoding and spelling program for students in grades 4 and up who have gaps in their decoding and spelling proficiency. Read here for more information about Just Words.

Reading Recovery is a short-term intervention for first graders having extreme difficulty with early reading and writing. A specially trained teacher works individually with students in daily 30-minute lessons lasting 12 to 20 weeks. Here are more information about Reading Recover.

Reading Rescue is a short-term intervention for lower grades students who are struggling with early reading and writing. A Reading Rescue tutor works individually with students for 30 minutes a day for about 18 weeks. Follow this link for more information on Reading Rescue.

English Language Arts

Reading and Writing in the Content Areas


A portion of our English Language Arts (ELA) curriculum centers around students studying social studies and science content and using their understanding of that content to read, write, and complete projects and presentations related to that content. In 2nd grade, for instance, students learn about immigration to the United States — the push and pull factors that cause people to immigrate, as well as the challenges that immigrants face when moving to a new place — by reading primary source documents, watching instructional videos, and conducting additional research. Using this information, they construct an understanding of why people immigrate and whether their adopted homeland lives up to what immigrants anticipated. Students write informational, opinion, and narrative pieces, as well as create projects based on all that they’ve learned about immigration.

What students learn is aligned with the New York City Social Studies and Science scope and sequence, as well as the Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) for each grade. Where applicable, grades have adopted the NYCDOE’s Passport to Social Studies curriculum and Amplify Science curriculum. A grade-by-grade breakdown of what students learn about during their Reading and Writing in the Content Areas block is as follows:

  • Kindergarten:
    • Social Studies: Me and My Family, School Community Workers, Neighborhoods
    • Science: Year long study on the weather
  • First grade:
    • Social Studies: Families, Communities, and Community Economics
    • Science: Animals and habitats
  • Second grade:
    • Social Studies: Immigration
    • Science: Plants and Bees
  • Third grade:
    • Social Studies: World Geography, Asia, South America & Central America
    • Science: Frogs--plant and animal adaptations
  • Fourth grades:
    • Social Studies: Native Americans, Colonial Times, Federal, State and Local Government
    • Science: Living and Non-living things, measurement, water cycle, simple machines

In fifth grade classes that are departmentalized, the units of study are as follows:


  • Social Studies: Geography and early societies of the western hemisphere, European exploration, Mexico, the United States of America, the western hemisphere today
  • Science: patterns of Earth and sky, modeling matter, the Earth system, ecosystem restoration

Students learn content deeply and progress towards learning deeply across a range of topics. We also believe that students need to express and share their learning in authentic ways. Every grade has Choice Time multiple times a week, during which students create projects of their own design to express what they’ve learned during each Reading and Writing in the Content Areas unit of study. Classes have culminating museums or presentations when students can share their work with an audience — their family members, other students, teachers, administrators, and community members.

Morning Meeting

Social-Emotional Learning


Responsive Classroom provides our framework for social-emotional learning. Responsive Classroom is a research-based approach to K-8 teaching that focuses on the strong link between academic success and social-emotional skills. It is based in the belief that a high-quality education for every child is built on the foundation of a safe and joyful learning community. For more information visit the Responsive Classroom website.

Morningside 4Rs-The 4Rs curriculum (Reading, Writing, Respect & Resolution) engages the imagination and creativity of children in grades PreK-5 to help develop critical skills including empathy, community building, and conflict resolution. The 4Rs curriculum opens the door for children to look more closely at their own experiences, and gives them clear tools for handling difficult emotions and resolving conflict with their peers. Meanwhile, teachers learn strategies they can use throughout the day to create a higher quality classroom experience in which students are focused, settled, and poised to learn.

Emotionally Responsive Practices- Our Kindergarten and first grade students experience the Teddy Bear Curriculum (originally designed by Lesley Koplow and the Center for Emotionally Responsive Practice at Bank Street College).

Go Math

Math


At Sunset Park School, we use Eureka Math (Great Minds, formally known as EngageNY) across K–5. Our math curriculum is aligned with NY State Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) for each grade. A breakdown for each grade is below:

Kindergarten:


  • Numbers to 10
  • 2D & 3D Shapes
  • Comparison of Length, Weight, Capacity, & Numbers to 10
  • Number Pairs, Addition, & Subtraction to 10
  • Numbers 10-20; Count to 100 by Ones & Tens
  • Analyzing, Comparing & Composing Shapes

First Grade


  • Add and subtract Small Numbers
  • Meet Place Value
  • Measure Length
  • Add & Subtract Bigger Numbers
  • Work with Shapes
  • Add & Subtract to 100

Second Grade


  • Add & Subtract Friendly Numbers
  • Explore Length
  • Counting & Place Value
  • Add, Subtract, & Solve
  • Add & Subtract Big numbers
  • Equal Groups
  • Length, Money, & Data
  • Shapes, Time, & Fractions

Third Grade


  • Multiply & Divide Friendly Numbers
  • Measure it
  • Multiply & Divide Tricky Numbers
  • Find the Area
  • Fractions as Numbers
  • Display Data
  • Shapes & Measurement

Fourth Grade


  • Add, Subtract & Round
  • Measurement & Solve
  • Multiply & Divide Big Numbers
  • Construct LInes, Angles, & Shapes
  • Equivalent Fractions
  • Decimal Fractions
  • Multiply & Measure

Fifth Grade


  • Place Value with Decimal Fractions
  • Based Ten Operations
  • Add & Subtract Fractions
  • Multiply and Divide Fractions & Decimals
  • Volume, Area, & Shapes
  • The coordinate Plane

In addition, students will experience digital curriculum Zearn and through Happy Numbers in English (Spanish where needed) to access math curriculum while learning at home. Through Happy Numbers:


  • Each student starts off at the right point in the curriculum thanks to built-in Quantile-based assessments
  • Students progress at their own pace through our pedagogy-rich math story, supported by instant, individualized feedback and scaffolding
  • Teachers get actionable insights from Happy Numbers to inform their differentiation strategy.